Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

1:33 p.m. - 2002-02-04

A reluctant part of the 2/3 majority

It�s an often-reported fact one third of Americans call in sick the day after the Super Bowl. But as far as that fence goes, I�m finding myself on the side with the larger lawn� shall we say. Uhg�. Right now the other side is definitely looking greener.

Not that I partied hard or anything last night. Infact I didn�t have anything to drink at all. I was the driver and we went to chill gathering where there wasn�t that much drinking anyway. But a great time though� I mean the game (being the only whole football game I watch all year) was fantastic and the commercials even better (my personal favs were the Visa, Kevin Bacon one and of course the Bellybutton-wireless add) But honestly the real reason I watched the game was to see U2 at the half time show!!!

Any they put on a kick ass show� Please allow me to rant / rave a bit�. First remember last year.. The half time show consisted of Britney, NSNYC, Aerosmith.. among others� Yeah it took all of them to flush out the show� This year, U2 did it by themselves and I�d even say upstaged to game. Hell I even heard reporter saying they out American-ed the Americans.. They were also the only performer that night to perform live and not pre-recorded. Damn Straight YO! They played a very scaled down version of their already scaled down tour concert. Which I might say, just went to show how awesome they were. They didn�t need Bangs, Fire, Massive Vid screens� no.. they just needed a stage, four guys some instruments and sound equipment. Not ignoring Sept11 they, like in their concert, scrolled the names of those who died, during their last two songs.. MLK and Where the Streets Have no Names. Given that has caused some discussion, since they were only able to get through to �C� in the alphabetical order the WTC victims. But in my opinion besides being a time requirement (the whole list was displayed at the concert) it just emphasized how much of a loss there was� we couldn�t list all the names, it can�t be summed up that quickly or that easily� About halfway though the �C�s� the screen on which they were projected, collapsed� the names where still scrolling� Isn�t that an exact metaphor to what happen that morning? All of those lives were in the middle of living they�re daily life when their world suddenly collapsed on them� I�ve grown up listing and watching U2� this was done on purpose. It was done to say something� to say a lot of things all at the same time� That�s their style. How you read is up to you� they don�t hand it to you on a spoon. �did I mention I was a fan?


I�m sorry my last update was so brief� work deiced to stay quite stressful right up to the end of Thursday. But it was fine. I got it all done. And had a wonderfully long weekend. All Thursday while stressing out here I had a deep burning desire to hang out at a coffee-shop. But since the area�s first and only Star bucks wasn�t opening until Friday� I had to settle for making myself some. So I made me a large cup of Turkish coffee. For those of you who don�t know what that means� You boil 2 cups of water, throw in several scoops of the finest ground coffee you can get you hands on, several spoons of sugar and let it boil / simmer for like five or so minutes�. Then you bring down the temp till it just stops boiling. And let it settle. Then carefully pour off the liquid into your mug letting the grains rest at the bottom of the pan/pot. What you get is a cup of very strong/ very roboust coffee.

That lead me to my first of three, 4am nights dorking. Yeah� I spent way too much time this weekend playing with chat rooms, meeting new friends and playing with our webcams. After sending all Saturday fooling with MSN and Netmeeting I came to deduce that Yahoo is the way to go. It�s vastly more simple then Microsoft�s shit and far more integrated. Anyways, all in all it was good times.


You ever see or read something and go �Hey, I�ve already thought/said that before.� Well at least now with Good ole� Diaryland, you can have proof of your prior ingenuity. I came across an article in Washington post Thursday about this new book or something. In any case, it had this paragraph that sounded pretty familiar. I thought about it� used Andrew�s nifty little diary search engine and came across my thoughts on it� I�ll let you be the judge.

From the Post�s article :

"People talk about the culture glorifying single people," Paul says. "I feel like nothing could be further from the truth." Notice, she says, how the single people on shows from "Seinfeld" to "Friends" to "Sex and the City" are neurotic? Notice how their entire purpose -- the perpetual plot line -- is finding "the right one"?

Now my Entry on 20-April-01:

Last night watched Charlie�s Angels over at the college with a friend. Its weird how that life is now so distant. I was doing some thinking recently�.. I wonder if I and some of my generation have been taught a silent lesson by the sitcoms of our time. It kinda just hit me. Harking way back to Three�s company what�s the basis of many sitcoms???? Unmarried twenty something�s or thirty something�s siting around their apartments getting in to and out of a lot of entertaining problems. But maybe the message that came across silently with the laughter was �you�d better settle down or you could end up like this� . We all enjoy the shows but would we really want to be any of the characters inside of them? We relate to them soooo well sometimes that maybe we realized on some level that we to could become them and that scares us. Now I never watched all that much TV but I�m curious if my drive / desire to settle down was due in some part by this phenomenon?

heh� I know it�s not exact but it was close and I was able to objectively verify I my feelings of � �hey didn�t I already think of that�� And how often do you get a chance do that?


Lastly, Saturday was Ground Hogs day� and That little bastard saw his shadow� I figured after the past week of 70 degree weather that freaking rat would come out of it�s hole with a lawn chair and a bottle sun screen and get himself a nice tan� But Nooooo he saw his shadow and this week we have snow. #%##$$%$!!!!! That�s what you get for trusting an animal who lives under the ground with your weather! Uhg!

As always.. Take Care,

-Fritz

PS Thank You Christie & Tim for listing me as a fav.


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)