Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

11:49 a.m. - 2004-01-09

Moving pictures

An old friend of mine asked about a certain red paisley shirt I discussed in a recent entry. The kick of it� I wasn�t the one wearing it. To the best of my knowledge I have never worn a red paisley anything (Although I may admit to wearing a blue paisley corduroy shirt during middle school�but not likely).

What I was actually referring to in that day�s lesson, what a little more literal. While Silver and I were out visiting my Indiana family this holiday I mentioned that I had never seen any of the old family films rumored to be around. The short 8mm reels of various family functions of lore. To them watching 20+ year old film clips is a way to reminisce those times. For me though� it�s different. I wasn�t there. These films don�t spark any personal memory of the event glowing on the sheet in the front of the room. What these films do, is allow me to see my mother. See how she moved. See how she laughed. See how she smiled. She died when I was five. I have only fragments of fragments of recollections of her. So the last day of our visit, the films were pulled out and projected. And an otherwise segmented family assembled. Not at once� When the films started only half were there� but when members heard about the films, they came and they came� It was as if, they all wanted to see and remember what it was like when they were whole and all together. And the thing is, while we were watching the moving, glowing square on a sheet, we were complete and all together.

Oh, the red shirt that started this all� Lets hope my future kids never have the chance to give me the ragging I was able to give my dad. Lets also hope they never find any pics from my Rocky Horror Picture Show adventures.

Take care,

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)