Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

1:47 p.m. - 2002-05-02

The mystery reader signed

The mystery has been solved.. well sort of I still have no idea who he/she is or how they apparently know me but they signed my Guest Book this morning as or right after I posted this morning�s entry. In any case, I am much obliged, Grey thank you for signing it.. and I�ll now attempt to respond to your post..

Fritz, Sorry I didn't sign yesterday. It was a lot to digest. It's very interesting learning about someone by reading their life story in reverse. Or some of it. I'm amazed by this form of online exhibitionism. As a psychologist, can you speak to the growth of this phenomenon? It certainly appears to be working well for you, and you appear to be good at it. And a technical question: how did you know how I found the diary? Was it obvious from the first entry I looked at, or can the diaryland software discover that by itself?

from Gandalf the Grey

It�s been awhile since I have had to explain the concept / allure of dland to someone. But bare with me and I�ll do my best. First off here�s a hint� after read a few entries and becoming interested� pick a entry further back in time and read forward� it tends to be even more interesting and easier to follow.. Note if you pick the person�s first entry, be prepared to read the diary in its entirety.. these things can be addictive. That brings me to the allure of this whole online diary thing. Well it really needs to be broken down into two parts. A) Why people, like you, enjoy / get entranced reading another�s diary. B) Why people such as me are driven to start and keep up an online diary.

To tackle the first half� There seems to be a universal broad growing interest in things / entertainment that is �real�. And there are many explanations of why that is, but I feel it�s mostly due to the fact the we as a general public were getting tired of seeing only stars become famous. It�s hard to relate to a fictional character because somewhere in our minds we realize that life does not dictate what happens to the character instead a bunch of writers and producers behind the curtain get to play fates with the strands of life. Ahhh� but seeing Johnny Joe from 2 towns away from your aunt live / compete on TV and you go �hey that could soooo be me� And what they are going through is unscripted and the stands of life are handed back to the person and the fates. And things are real and a thousand fold more interesting.

So what is more real then someone�s diary? A lot of concepts come with that term �Diary��personal, private, honest, thoughts, emotions, and records. And let there be no misunderstandings just because these dairies are online� these concepts still pertain a 100%. When you are reading someone�s diary you feel as if you are being granted a special window to peek into that person�s most personal of thoughts. And while we all do some self-censoring here� this is what is happening. And all these diaries of are real people going through real life with all that entails. If you happen across just the right diary it can be more addicting then any TV show� I mean in what other medium do the actors get to write the script themselves with the only oversight being fate/god/life/Goddesses?

But why? Why spill your guts to the world, too anyone who happens across your little piece of the web? Well I have discussed this before here and here but those discussions were aimed primarily to the diaryland audience. Well I�ll ask you� you have read a vast amount of my entries.. aren�t you at least a tad interested in starting your own? Really aren�t you? Now ask yourself why? And I will tell you. It�s the same thing that makes diaryland dairies different from personal web pages.

The community!

Hands down! The community here is truly wonderful, accepting, honest, attentive� I can�t say enough about them. Where else can you spill out your life get such a favorable verifying response from real people? And these responses can form into relationships in themselves. I know more about the day to day lives of my diaryland friends then I do some of my closest friends in �real-life� (whatever that means now these days) and this is not to say my friends aren�t extremely close but come on Grey, tell me� after reading all of those entries of mine wouldn�t you have to say you know more about me than do of the majority of your friends? And think how flattering it was to me that my life was interesting enough that you spent soo long and read so much of it? Plus the fact that I know what I write here will probably be read by at least ten or so people, its very very gratifying. People are interested in me and my life. Real people are interested in my real life! Ya getting this?

As far as how I knew how you found me� I am tempted to keep it my little secret.. but it�s widely known that any free �hit counter� like mine from Bravenet seen on the bottom left of my page will show you how people get to your site including the search terms they used in search engines. In fact there a diaryhere dedicated to the odd searches that have pulled up persons dairies.


Again thank you for signing in and I hope I have answered your question� although I�m still quite curious who you are and how you know me�

Well take care

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)