Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

9:12 a.m. - 2001-12-19

I love it here

Ok I might complain about work every now and then. But today� Today I love it here. There are three women playing winter/x-mas music on harps just outside my little old cube. Ahhhhhh. Fritz is smiling. Not only is it just soooo lovely it also makes for a perfect segue way for what I wanted to discuss today� x-mas/winter music� but first�


I fixed my page :)

It�s even a bit improved. This is how I always wanted it to look. But Angelfire never left me post jpgs only gifs� and that screwed up my pics� don�t you like? I took them myself in college. Anyways yes, I am working on a top secret new design which will take me a bit, but the process has been begun.


Now back to music� more specific, an certain holiday song. You know how this time it surrounded by memories of the past? And how easily songs can bring about those memories. Well I had one hit me last night. I had been looking for this song cause A) I love it but B) cause I knew it would invoke some very pleasant college memories.

It was well into my first semester at college when I deiced to go to �Java Bar� which was at the art hall every Thursday night. Back then almost every Java Bar included an open mic. Well after a joyous evening of good coffee and good conversation, She took the stage with her guitar in hand. She was quite comfortable because practically everyone there was one of her friends. She played two songs. One was an Ani Difiraco song� �Untouchable Face� I think (This was my first time ever hearing Ani, it was love at first listen too). The other was this wonderful Holiday (although it was a bit early) song by Dar Williams� �The Christians and Pagans�. God the way she played it� She had this nymphish upbeat quality to her� I can�t express in words. But over the course of the rest of my college she would become something of a Muse/goddess to me. We were acquaintances� Probably could have developed a friendship, however I never felt worthy of her attention. She was just someone who I admired for being exactly the way she was. You know the type� the kind that make you completely happy just know they can exist. Anyways, she graduated and I never worked up the never to tell her how much she meant to me. I think I even wrote an unsent letter� but anyway� back to the song. She played it, my heart warmed and never cooled for the rest of my time at college. It still holds an aura to what Christmas was for me those first few years at college�.

ARTIST: Dar Williams

TITLE: The Christians and the Pagans

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

Amber called her uncle, said "We're up here for the holiday,
Jane and I were having Solstice, now we need a place to stay."
And her Christ-loving uncle watched his wife hang Mary on a tree,
He watched his son hang candy canes all made with red dye number three.
He told his niece, "It's Christmas eve, I know our life is not your style,"
She said, "Christmas is like Solstice, and we miss you and it's been awhile,"


So the Christians and the Pagans sat together at the table,
Finding faith and common ground the best that they were able,
And just before the meal was served, hands were held and prayers were said,
Sending hope for peace on earth to all their gods and goddesses.


The food was great, the tree plugged in, the meal had gone without a hitch,
Till Timmy turned to Amber and said, "Is it true that you're a witch?"
His mom jumped up and said, "The pies are burning," and she hit the kitchen,
And it was Jane who spoke, she said, "It's true, your cousin's not a Christian,"
"But we love trees, we love the snow, the friends we have, the world we share,
And you find magic from your God, and we find magic everywhere."


So the Christians and the Pagans sat together at the table,
Finding faith and common ground the best that they were able,
And where does magic come from, I think magic's in the learning,
Cause now when Christians sit with Pagans only pumpkin pies are burning.


When Amber tried to do the dishes, her aunt said, "Really, no, don't bother."
Amber's uncle saw how Amber looked like Tim and like her father.
He thought about his brother, how they hadn't spoken in a year,
He thought he'd call him up and say, "It's Christmas and your daughter's here."
He thought of fathers, sons and brothers, saw his own son tug his sleeve, saying,
"Can I be a Pagan?" Dad said, "We'll discuss it when they leave,"


So the Christians and the Pagans sat together at the table,
Finding faith and common ground the best that they were able,
Lighting trees in darkness, learning new ways from the old, and
Making sense of history and drawing warmth out of the cold.


Hope you all enjoyed it. Take Care you all

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)