Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

2:26 p.m. - 2001-06-14

Happiness Rant

Let me start off I usually get a bad taste in my mouth after reading little bits of �our generation� hoopla. But that�s not going to stop me from writing some too. Don�t worry it�ll probably taste bad to me also.


So this past week I have read two articles about the twenty somethings of today. According to them:

1) We rarely stay at any job for longer than 2-3 years.

2) Being a �soul-mate� is our number one criteria in determining who we�ll marry

I�m not arguing that these are bad things. But to me they demonstrate how idealistic we are. We have grown up in a banner time in history and for us anything seems possible. This idea is reinforced by schools, media and our parents. We will never HAVE to settle for something. If we are willing to work for it we can get anything we want.

��

��..

�.. �we want� That�s where things get difficult. With all doors open, choices have to be made. These choices are not ones that reason, rational, and logic offer any help. These are choices are one that must be made by our hearts. It used to be that when our mind was trying to make a decision our hearts would just get in the way. Now the time has come when ours minds have collectively asked our hearts. �Ok your turn, you just tell me what you want and I�ll figure out how to make it so�

and our hearts sheepishly reply �um could you come back and ask me later. I wasn�t expecting this� Our hearts have become the dog who finally caught the car it was chasing.

We go from job to job not knowing what we want to do but learning what we don�t. And there are enough jobs out there to allow us to do this.

We either hesitate from marriage / life-partnering till we are sure with all of our hearts that said person is our soul-mate. Or go from marriage to marriage finding soul-mate after soul-mate.

So what am I saying? What is the point of this? To all my peers out there, take the time and the effort to figure out what it is you like. What it is you want. What it is that makes you happy, honestly happy. DO WHAT EVER IT TAKES to accomplish this. And be true to yourself. Don�t listen to people who try to tell you what you want. Look inside and figured it out yourself. Finally don�t let societal norms guide you either. Societal norms have nothing to do with your happiness.

You may realize that what you like best in life, you cannot make a living doing. That�s ok, then just try to find a job that allows you the most opportunities / resources to do what ever it is that you like. The point is be happy because we live at a time when we can be.

As always take care

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)