Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

3:40 p.m. - 2002-08-05

Gov�s Cup

Gov�s Cup� Actually it�s real name is The Governor�s Cup but no one calls it that. What is it? It�s a race, a party, a weekend, an outdoor concert, a reunion, a holiday, public drunkenness, and that�s just how I see it. Officially it�s an allnight sailboat race from Maryland�s present capital in Annapolis to it�s Historic capital, which happens to be located right next to my Old college. And thus the college is one to host the race and the one to throw the party the next day. Back in the day, (the day, being defined as when I was in highschool) That�s all it was to me, a sail boat race. Well not only a sail boat race� the most prestigious race on the Chesapeake Bay. Up to 450 boats! It was Huge� the best of the best would come out� The Mt.Gay Rum hats from the race were worn with pride around the world. Once I got into college I realized it was much more than that� People that had nothing to do with sailing talked about Gov�s Cup weekend� During college I ended helping run the race which, was fun to be on and see the �other side� of it all. And I got a better understanding of all it was. The Saturday after the race after the sailors wake up it turns into one large party.. One large open public party. Not only would a portion of the community come to share in the revelry but the race/party attracted a good number of alumni. Thus it becomes an unofficial annual Alumni reunion.

Now post college, this is what the race has turned into for me� A reunion. Not just with my past colligate peers but with the sailing community I used to be apart of. Go down check out the boats smile to the people who remember me� see who won� when people got in� how the weather was etc� Try to see if I would have had a good time sailing in it had I been out there.

This year / This past weekend� well, the gov�s cup seemed to slip up in it�s many roles. Now don�t get me wrong. I had a great time. But it just seemed that everything thing cept my house had a low turn out� Just not that many boats / people / Alumni showed up. But like I said I had a great really time.. My house hosted a good number of my friends some old, some new. And it was a party� the whole weekend was one long party and I got to play host� I don�t know what exactly it is� but I love playing host. I love having people down and providing them a good time. I loving having house that people use for vacations�


Today�s Lessons

-The new �MINI�s�, are not only as cute as they seem but also have a good deal of �pep� in them too. Plus, having one parked in your driveway all weekend can make one feel special.

-We all are growing older� But, not necessarily getting older.

-Groove Armada is amassing a huge buzz�

-One should not leave Fritz without his hair gel.

-Sad memories are better shared in a hot tub.

-When dealing with what are obviously Zombies, don�t bother wasting bullets into the chest, aim for the head, always aim for the head�


Thank ya, Nicole, Marla, molzo & dana-elayne for your G*book love.

Take care,

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)