Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

9:10 a.m. - 2001-11-26

Back safe and sound.

Well I hope everyone had a good holiday. New Mexico was freaking gorgeous. I have been in love with that distant-mountain-can-see-for hundreds-of-miles scenery ever since I laid eyes on the Joshua Tree album. I was in visual heaven. Funny thing about New Mexico. Pull out an USA driving atlas. You know the kind which have a page or two dedicated to each state unless it�s small like Maryland who always ends up sharing with Delaware. So anyway take said map and open it to New Mexico. You�ll notice that there�s a lot of white space. I coming from a small state, figured that it was because New Mexico is such a huge state they only list the significant major roads.

Silly Me�

Cause if you look closer and read the map�s key you�ll see that some of the roads shown are unpaved (meaning a strip of dirt that�s slightly smoother and slightly less vegetated than the surrounding land). I know this all too well. The highlight of my trip was traveling down a 50 mile dirt road. I had gone to see two historical sites. After reaching the second one (which was Closed grrrrr�) it was �faster� loop back to where I was staying. On the map it was route 25 (I think) which they warned was �unmaintained� in reality it was 50 mile windy / hilly / bumpy / dusty / oh so very desolate / did I mention bumpy? / An hour and a half of adventure. At some points I was ripping at 60mph, at others I bottomed out no matter how slowly I crawled along. All in all, it was fun. Although nerve racking. After about an hour of it and not seeing anyone expect a few indifferent cows, mixed with the fact you know you�re literally a 100 miles from anything that could consider it self a town, kinda gets to you. The other new driving thrill for me was earlier on a more �maintained� road I set the cruise control to 95mph for periods of a half an hour or more. I mean it�s not that going 95 is that big of a deal in of it self. But sustaining that pace for long periods of time�. I got kick out of knowing I was covering that much distance in so little time, a mile and a half in a minute. Damn Yo!


Thanksgiving� Friends, family, good eats.. yeah..


The sucky parts? How about Strep case #4! Well sort of� About noon on my first full day there my throat started to ache again and a quick glance in a mirror confirmed the presence of those all too familiar white splotches. So I went to the local doctor, who also happens to be the mayor of the town , (everything you might infer from this fact is all to true) and explained my case� I had three other bouts of it� yada yada� recovering from mono�. Yada�. But to his credit he sat down with me and went over my whole dilemma. And gave it more thought then my doc here. He did some tests, that said what I have wasn�t strep this time but some other bacterial infection (for some reason I found this comforting) and that yes I was still fighting mono (which explains my throat�s susceptibleness to little unfriendly colonies of tiny nasties) however, my liver and everything else seems to be functioning well. He put me on another kind of antibiotic (who knew that there were so many�) and sent me on my way.

Oh, I also learned I can no longer sleep on airplanes. The ride there was during the day and thus no big deal. But coming back it was the red eye and I was exhausted to begin with yet still couldn�t relax / get comfortable enough to doze off. Uhg! Speaking of not sleeping last night was another no rester. I don�t know if it was the herbal drink I had later than I should have or jet lag or stress but I didn�t fall asleep until like past 3:00am. But so far I�m hanging in there well today. C�est La Vie, right?

Welcome back & Take Care

-Fritz

Fritz quote of the day:

Checking-in-counter-lady: "Have you been given any packages or gifts from strangers?"

Fritz: "They were strange but, they were related to me."


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)