Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

9:18 a.m. - 2003-03-04

Soapbox

*Gets out ladder and crawls into the attic*

*some shuffling, some stumbling, some intermittent mumbling/cursing*

�ah� I knew it was up here.�

*White notices what I�m carrying back down the steps*

�Dude, Fritz I didn�t know you had one of those!�

�Everyone has one� I just hardly if ever use mine.�

*drags the soapbox to the corner, pulls out the megaphone and lifts it to his mouth*

in a loud demanding authoritative tone proclaims thus:

�Is this on?�


I�m up here today cause something has driven me to this vantage point. Something has filled me with this much emotion. And that something is the �Married by America� special on FOX. The thing is
I like it
(not what you expected eh?) well I don�t really like it (it lost a lot once Smity was booted). But I like that it exists. I like that it�s on TV. I like the fact that a lot of people are going to enjoy watching it. Why? Because it so clearly demonstrates the gross hypocrisy occurring here.

We by watching it� by letting it be on TV, are implicitly condoning the act of two people who know nothing of each other, whose pairing rest solely in the hands of TV viewers, moreover FOX viewers, enter in to the holy-act-of-matrimony. This we�re ok with. This is acceptable. This is legally sanctioned.

However, two people who are in love, who have been supporting each other for years, who may or may not be raising kids together can�t get married. Are not legally allowed to marry� Have acts and bills in congress �defending the holy-act-of-matrimony� from them.

Come on people!

In this day-in-age where more than half of those who marry get divorced� If anything it needs to be defended from us. With stats like that I�m willing to give ideas such as �Married by America� a chance but I�d rather put my chips in ideas where love actually a component.

Thank You

-Fritz

*gets off soapbox, tucks away the megaphone, politely nods to all who had gathered*

*puts the box back up in the attic with the lighthearted hope that he�ll never need it again*


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)