Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

11:59 a.m. - 2002-08-23

Photographs

Hmmm� I wasn�t up all night� nope I got some decent sleep from around 5am until 6am. Yes indeedy! I honestly don�t know what caused it� It very well might be that the whole Purple thing finally hit me or other stuff. I don�t know. All I know is that my heart was racing and after I got out bed and dorked around on the puter / wrote my entry, I thought I was fine, relaxed and exhausted and ready for bed. But Noooooooo I get back into bed and boom! My heart is pounding again�. It was like no matter what I was consciously thinking of, my unconscious was going through some sort of panic attack or something. Blah�. I even promised myself I�d call in sick this morning. But my unconscious saw right through that trick! I�m here� well by some definitions, at least. Perhaps I�ll find me some serenity this weekend� some where between all the chair making, friend / relative seeing, party hopping� *sigh*


In a discussion with Sunrise Yellow about the differences between Journal writing like Dland and Fiction writing I came up with an analogy I�d like to attempt to put down here� we�ll see if it makes as much sense as it did swimming in my head�

You can�t compare journalistic writing to fiction writing� They are completely different species. It would be like comparing painting to photography. Yes, the end result of both is art you look at. But the methods, purpose, skills, and intent are distinct in and of each other. The principal difference though is in the subject. Fiction is the painting. We are presented with something whose subject is the creation of the artist. True, it might be based on a reality of some sort. But that�s not the point. Mastery is judged on the presentation as opposed to the subject. Us journal writers are photographers. Our art is based upon reality. We write about things, which are concrete. Our lives, Our thoughts, Our worlds. These all exist in some form or another prior to our capture of them. And that�s exactly what we do, we capture our reality and display it in some nice setting for all who wish to see. However, like a zoo the core focus is on the subject not necessarily it�s presentation. Our mastery is in choosing what to share and what not to share or even what to think of in the first place. Then again there are the snapshot times� wherein we photograph our lives not for any audience really, but just to record some image of it so when can keep it with us into the future. These are times where we�ll practice our art without any attempt of mastery� This not a common occurrence with painting/fiction writing�

Yes there are exceptions but that�s just because exceptions are ubiquitous creatures.


Today�s lessons

-It�s easy to over look what one has gained if one focuses on what he�s lost.

-A man inches to the perfection of life will without doubt focus on those remaining inches.

-I just saw a �Red Bull� minivan� MINIVAN!!!

-Conscious can be deceiving.

-The largest window in the world looks upon fish.


Lastly I�d like to thank dana-elayne and Marla for your Love it was needed and very much appreciated! I hope everyone has a kick ass weekend.

Take care,

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)