Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

6:02 p.m. - 2003-09-22

Blessed Mess

Once again I find myself with no time but having to record a historically significant event. On Thursday the 18th of September 2003 Hurricane Isabel (Izzy) Hit the shores Of VA went inland and headed north right at us. We caught the north east quadrant full on. At about noon we started to feel 30+ wind and rain. It was up and down until 8ish when the rain stopped, but the wind just kept increasing. Around 8:30 you started hearing trees crack and snap, this continued well through the night. By daylight there were blue skies and decent breeze.

Daylight also allowed us along with the community to view the damage. It was a mess. Our backyard looked like a giant�s game of pick-up-sticks. Trees were down everywhere.

We were lucky. There is just no two ways about it. We lost nine Very Large and Very Tall pine trees. NINE! And yet not a one fell on the house, the deck or the precious Hot Tub. The fence did not fare as well. It got struck at in at least four places. We lost so many trees our back yard went from being wooded to an open backyard with a few shade trees (the four that were left).

By noon on Friday I was still gawking at my backyard wondering what the hell I was going to do, buy a chainsaw and start hacking, pay some contractor remove it all or� Then I heard my neighbor call me apparently a few households had banded together and have been going up the block removing the tress here and there. He asked if I had one or two trees down? I laughed and said �come and see for yourself� Well they just started sawing and chopping and by 2:00 about a 1/3 of the mess was cleared. But they were exhausted and the power had comeback on so they were all eager to get home and relax. It had been a long night and a rough day, for everyone. After finding one hardware store that still had some chainsaws left, I was able to keep up the progress that was started by my wonderful neighbors. Buy Sunday evening all the trees that were over the fence were down and mostly chopped expect one. This one is just tricky and as of now it looks like I�m just going to have a professional deal with it. It�s one of the largest ones and it just uprooted and keeled over. But not all the way over it�s just leaning against other trees. Its so well supported on both ends that even if I cut it all the way through it very well might not go anywhere. And that�s too much tree, too high to but that unsure of what might happed. Especially after my incidents this weekend.

Friday after all was said and done, after talking off my safety goggles which I had worn all day, I started to clean up, well at some point I rubbed my eyes and managed to scratch my right one. Which meant I was more than decomished for the rest of the evening. Fortunately I was just starting to get better by Saturday afternoon I was able tog et back to work. Then on Sunday I was tackling the second most problem tree. I gave it some careful thought and planning. I climbed up my ladder and cut though it. One end went down the other end went up� all as planed� but then the end that went down, it�s other side fell from where it was being supported landed on the fence, pivoted and slammed the ladder I was six feet high on out from under me. Causing me and my running chainsaw to go headfirst in the ground. Again I was lucky� Other than some good scrapes I came out just fine. And so did the chainsaw.

All in All it truly was a blessed mess.

Take care,

-Fritz

Before Isabel

After Isabel

After some cleaning�


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)