Sign Here

Name

E-Mail

Where you at?

What'cha want to tell me?


Visitors:

Visitors:


(conclusions)


(mystical76)


(danajeri)


(faithnomore)


(goovie)


(ultracrisp)


(veralynn)


(soonerbred)

10:32 a.m. - 2002-07-23

Baselines

Us humans� have the remarkable ability to adapt. Well this is in of it self aint that big of a whoop. I�m pretty sure in the definition of life there�s verbiage about being able to adapt� plants grow towards light, jelly fish swim towards salty waters, and Baldwins are attracted to bad movies (Stephan aside, thank ya very much). What�s remarkable about humans� adaptability is how pervasive it is. We spend our entire lives adapting to everything� we�re quite good at it. So much so we don�t even notice it. It warms outside / we put on less clothing, We feel sleepy / we drink some Dew. We are force-fed the same junk media from record industries and Hollywood and we learn I like it, we buy it and we crave more� (But alas that�s a rant for another day). We get �used to� our-environments/our-lives quite quickly. Our baseline is constantly updating. Thus any ups and any downs are purely relative and temporary� This is what makes our experiences in our life so subjective. The emotions we see and feel are purely and distinctly ours� We might have all felt the same way but about completely different things� By the laws of averages most of us belong a pool of collective and shared emotions/experiences. Although towards the fringes of said pool.. Discrepancies start to occur�

Back in the day, I saw the sister of an acquaintance bawling her eyes out. Her face contorted with hysterics looked grotesque. She collapsed to the ground with emotion and began holding herself and rocking. This was not act. It was pain. Real honest to god pain and aguish. To the extent it made one�s stomach churn. Comparable if not worse than those commercials pleading for your daily allotment of coffee money. What was she suffering over? A loss of a beloved family member? No� Did she just learn she was being forced to move to Utah? Nope�. It was over a car. Not even the loss of one. She had just discovered the her younger sister was being given the BMW convertible that she herself had always wanted. She had only gotten an Audi.

Yeah I know� I know� but that�s not the point. The point it that her feelings / and pain were real no matter what the cause might have been. And this is something we can take comfort in� Cause what it means is that the worse things get the easier it becomes for them to get better. Of course the opposite holds true too� *sigh* � but no matter though� your baseline will soon adapt.

(ed note: some of you might have made the observation that I in the above babble confused reactions with adaptations� too you all, I place my fingers in my ears and chant.. �La La La La Laaaaaa, I Can�t hear you�La La La La�. )


Today�s Lessons

-There are by far too many Baldwin Brothers� (really, we only need Stephen)

-blue is not only a color, it�s a flavor.

-When a reviewer says a movie has a gusty ending� it means �it takes balls to end such good movie that badly�

-Dew it�s your friend. It�s your savoir

-If your not reading her you really should be.

-A Harley Davidson powered refrigerator is not a good idea�

-A fiddle of gold in not worth risking you immortal soul.

-Eye sty (sp?) hurt like a bitch.

-Fireworks make orchestra music cool.

-Mix tapes from Dland friends like goovie and Abs rock!


Well I do have a bit of overdue thanking to send to Marla n Kristy for the Guest Book love and affection. And huge / massive / enormous / very very big thanks to jamen & whacked for listing little ole me as a fav! Oh and Thank ya deslayerette for hopefuly starting a trend in which people actually ultilize my nifty guest map (see left hand side up a bit)


All in all I�m doing well. I went to the Allergy doc�s yesterday (why I wasn�t able to update) and got some insight as to why I�ve been feeling rather blah recently� well some of the reasons� Apparently I�m quite allergic to grass and the grass season is in full gear� I hate this� I used to not be allergic to anything� Then it was Dust� soon it was Cats� now grass� eh! But I got allergy meds now and stuff for my eye sty�s� So improvement should be on it�s way!

The weekend was chill and fun for all. Maroon, among others came down / by / through. Intermixed within this, went to see a weekly outdoor orchestra concert at mi old college, had the neighbors over for a hot tub dip� & watched three horror-esq movies.

Take care,

-Fritz


It�s been cool - 2005-05-18
Event Horizon - 2004-08-03
For the record - 2004-06-06
For the record - 2004-06-06
nonforgotten - 2004-04-30


If you happen to have a surplus of funds, please feel free to buy something for little old me off my Wish list. You will earn my undying love and gratitude. ;)

My Favorite
Diaries


(AugustDreams)


(omorfia)


(stonebridge)


(sweetsunday)


(eclectic117)


(batten)


(ask-obiwan)


(shutupyoda)


(sixweasels)


(mrsrobinson)


(evanadine)


(merricat)


(skye)


(vortex79)


(littleabby)


(bluering)


(katinlondon)